Sammy Long Youth Classic

Sammy Long Youth Classic 2023

Dates: March 18 - 20, 2023
Divisions: 6U Coach Pitch, 8U Coach Pitch, 10U Fast Pitch, 12U Fast Pitch & 16U Fast Pitch
Number of Games: Single elimination tournament with 2 pool games
Location: Twin Creeks Softball Complex &Weatherby Park
Schedule: 2023 Tournament Schedule - rained out

For more information, contact Alex Brehony, or 770-924-7768.

Since 1990, the Youth Classic has been hosted by Cherokee Recreation and Parks. The tournament was designed to give our recreation softball teams in the county a chance to compete in a tournament against team outside of their local association/league. What makes the tournament even more special is that this was the first ever tournament to be hosted at the newly opened Hobgood Park. Since the tournaments inception, the Youth Classic has had teams from all over Cherokee County participating in it that include, but not limited to, teams from Cherokee Youth Softball (Twin Creeks Softball), North Cherokee Youth Softball, Northeast Cherokee Youth Softball, Macedonia Softball, and South Cherokee Recreation Association. With the long standing success of this tournament, there have been notable individual contributors. Their instrumental work has not only instilled values of the game, but also life values into the girls' lives. In 1999, the first class of Youth Classic Hall of Fame Inductees were recognized. Now, every 5 years CRPA inducts another group of individuals consisting of coaches, players, umpires, and administrators. These wonderful people are the ones who have helped make this the longest standing youth tournament of any sports in CRPA history. In 2020, the Youth Classic was renamed "The Sammy Long Youth Classic", in honor of long time Cherokee Youth Softball League Director and CRPA employee, Sammy Long. Mr. Long was inducted posthumously in the 5th Class of Hall of Fame Inductees. 

Hall of Fame Inductees

Class of 1999 (10th Anniversary)

Lamar Bell   

Rodney Dempsey

Arfellow Gates

Ray Hendrix

Becky Shelley

Randy Smith


Class of 2009 (20th Anniversary)

Chris Chester

Kortney Dempsey

Lamar Meers

Camille Thomas

Charlie Williams

Mike Young 


Class of 2014 (25th Anniversary)  

Phil Berry 

Michael Brantley

Addie Hammond

Keith Hammond

Richard Landolt

Kate Messerly

Jimmy Messerly

Lisa Nations

Pil Reeves

Bobby Streetmon

Wayne Tippens

Kim Townsend

Mary Wofford 


Class of 2019 (30th Anniversary)     

Powell Hazzard

Derek Hightower

Debbie Cummings-posthumously

Danielle Rubin

Bridgette Flaherty


Class of 2020 (Inducted posthumously in 2020 and renamed to the Sammy Long Youth Classic)

Sammy Long